Betrayal

Lightning by NivisTigris via deviantART

After Staring at the Sun, the blog that gave birth to the Metaphosaurus Project, I’m posting a poem as the Velociwritetor’s first entry for this endeavor. This is a poem that I’ve written last September 29, 2011 on another blog, which is now in limbo. I’ve revised it, turning one of my friend’s comments into consideration. Thank you, Randwin, for taking the time to read my work. I hope that you’ll find it up to par with poetic standards, and I welcome comments, both good and bad, since they equally help me improve my writing. Without further ado:

Betrayal

A betrayal is getting struck by lightning
after the storm
has gone by unnoticed.
It leaves the victim
stunned, not by the bolt
but with the jolt
of truth recently revealed.
The pain of betrayal
is not the searing heat
of one hundred million volts,
but by the smell
of burnt flesh,
bone,
skin,
and hair
drifting
in
the
air.

This poem was inspired by a time in my life when I felt betrayed. Since it’s already water under the bridge, I won’t go into details anymore. During that time, though, it was raining. I could have sworn that there were lightning bolts in the horizon. I’d like to think that it’s my muse’s way of inspiring me to write the poem, juxtaposing the feeling and the weather disturbance. However, that is debatable. I’m just glad that I was able to turn a negative emotion into something creative.

Leave a Reply

