At the Bottom of a Coffee Mug

mug by ~Headliners via deviantART

As a coffeeholic, I’ve looked for various kinds of mugs to cater to my coffee obsession. I’ve bought tall mugs, thinking that it can hold more coffee in it. I’ve also bought mugs that looked much like bowls because they were wider than they were tall. I’ve also bought some that are wide and tall, which seems to be my pick until I was able to imagine a hair-raising scenario.

Imagine this situation:

A man wakes up after an all-nighter to finish a business proposal. Mechanically, he padded down his carpeted staircase towards the kitchen to get his morning cup of coffee. He put some fresh ground beans in his coffee filter, and let the machine gurgle and brew his favorite morning drink.

After a few minutes, the machine stopped — a signal that his morning ritual would start. He got up to get his wide-mouthed mug. He poured the coffee into it, and headed back to the breakfast table. He took little sips while there was still steam rising up. Eventually, the coffee cooled to a soothing warmth that he can gulp up. With his chin cupped under his left palm, he slowly started waking up.

Usually, it takes two mugs for him to feel awake, so he tried to finish the inch of coffee still swirling in his coffee mug. He raised his coffee mug to his mouth, and he tilted his head to allow all the liquid to freely flow down. Millimeter by millimeter, he can see the level of the coffee recede as he stared inside the coffee mug. He was almost able to empty the coffee mug but instead of looking at a red mug-bottom, it revealed an eye — a single, white eye with throbbing red blood vessels on the side — looking straight at him.

Surprised, bewildered, and most of all, scared, he coughed out the coffee that was en route to his stomach in a spray, and he dropped the mug. Smash! The fragments slid and scattered in all directions. As he stepped aside to dodge the sharp shards, he saw, out of the corner of his own eyes, a white, round thing roll under the kitchen sink, but he didn’t dare try to find out what it was anymore.

Such a freaky scenario, wouldn’t you agree? After that sordid daydream that I had, I didn’t try to look for any mugs that were wide enough for me to peek in as I was drinking coffee. I still have those wide-rimmed mugs but I always see to it that I don’t drink in them anymore. Some will say I’m paranoid, but still, I think that I’d rather not know if an eye is staring down my throat while I’m drinking coffee in the morning.

One thought on “At the Bottom of a Coffee Mug

  1. descargar un lugar para soñar

    Good day I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

