The Sol in Solitude

Blue Heeler, San Miguel de Allende by Jay Koppelman via National Geographic’s Photo of the Day (July 28, 2011). Somehow, this picture seems to fit what I felt.

I know that “solitude” and “sol” doesn’t have anything to do with each other, but it seems that the later seems to fit into the former rather snugly. In Spanish, it means “sun” and the sun does have some lonesome characteristics.

For example, the sun cannot share the exact same position in the sky with anything. This would be true for clouds and the moon. If they did share the same space, it’s either a grey, cloudy day or a dark, ominous eclipse.

Another example would be the fact that the sun is always at the center of the solar system. Even if it exerts gravity to hold a dwarf planet, eight regular ones, and some asteroids, they can’t be with the sun since it’ll just burn them into subatomic particles.

In my limited time to think, one more thing comes to mind; humans cannot really appreciate the direct light nor heat of the sun. If they did, they’d go blind or be riddled with melanomas.

When I think of it that way, it’s really a good connection to make. I know that others would disagree, but I’ve lost my sunny disposition today, so I’ll just revel in the irony of it all.


It’s another repost from Staring at the Sun. This was dated July 28, 2011. I guess I miss my old blog, or I’m itching to make one. Maybe that’s why I’m so pensive this week.


Leave a Reply

